Humbug!

This week I completed a birthday present of three nesting “Humbug” bags. I love making small projects that allow me to practice FMQ. As a matter of fact, the reason I got started with free motion quilting is that I waIMG_1507nted small amounts of quilted materials to use for these bags! (Now look what has happened! I discovered I love FMQ!) At any rate, I have a huge stash of beautiful, discarded silk ties that make great patchwork material for these little beauties. I used to just stipple them, but now I try to practice a different pattern for each bag. This time I used Paisley, Heart Paisley, and Concentric Squares. The three different size bags are perfect for the traveler, as they fit into corners of a suitcase. They’re great for storing makeup, electronics cords, golf tees, or any other item you can think of. And they are fun to nest when wrapping the package. The pattern comes from QuiltWoman.com and is super easy to put together. It includes an explanation why these bags are called humbug bags.

IMG_1516

I’ve also been working on my friendship quilt. I added some more detail to the outer design.  My textile paint arrived yesterday, and in the same package I received a copy of Karen McTavish’s “Mastering the Art of McTavishing”. How serendipitous was that?! I’ll embark on the adventure of textile painting this weekend, and try to get the rays of the quilt filled with McTavishing. I started the process last night. It is going quicker than I thought it would, and is really fun. I just have to get better at it.

4 thoughts on “Humbug!

  1. Enjoyed reading your blog today. Loved seeing the block of the month quilt that you finished and the pillow with spiral quilting I just absolutely love. I am planning a quilt for my son that the spirals will work great in as the material is spirals…can’t wait to get moving on that. Hopefully, I will be posting about that in the near future. As for now, I am enjoying the Building Blocks Quilt Along and learning lots. Happy Quilting!

Leave a Reply

