Philanthropic Quilting

How perfect it is to get involved in a project that is beneficial to others while doing something you love! That’s how I feel about a philanthropic quilting group that I joined a few months ago. Once a month the group meets and goes through tubs and tubs of donated fabric to craft quilts for a community of domestic violence survivors as well as a hospital gift shop. Most of the creations are baby quilts or throws, so it isn’t too difficult to have one pieced in a month or so. Volunteer free arm quilters do the rest. For me, “the rest” is the most fun and I free motion quilt and bind the ones that I piece. I was able to experiment with feathers on the first quilt and what a great way to practice.

Quilt#1Top number two is pin-basted ready for free motion quilting. Now that I am at that point, I am undecided how to quilt it. Up to now my quilts have been on the dense side. I really want to get away from that on this quilt. The focus fabric has cute little ducks along with toy blocks that spell BABY. I have thought about large spirals but would be open to any suggestions you readers may offer.Ducky Quilt Full

Ducky QuiltMy Bernina 830 is in the shop for its cleaning and servicing. I decided to set up a Bernina Virtuosa to quilt my block for the Building Blocks Quilt Along. I purchased a darning foot and my husband was totally horrified when I asked him to cut part of the foot away. I assured him that it was possible and the foot would survive. He shook his head, disappeared, and a few minutes later returned with a perfect quilting foot. It didn’t take long to become comfortable with the more limited space of the smaller machine and it is amazing how controllable and responsive it is. I’m still a little shaky on the ditching and some of the curves, but all in all, Block 2.3 was a nice experience.2.3 front2.3 BackUpdate on FORMAL GARDEN #3555. Shortly after I published the blog I received an email from Gay Bomers of Sentimental Stitches. Her late father was owner of FA Wurzburg & Son. She wrote, ”Thank you so much for sharing the story of your quilt. It’s a beautiful example of the Formal Garden kit. In looking at the quilting on your quilt I believe it to be one of the earlier examples of the kit – late 1920’s or early 1930’s. The design actually started out as a bedspread kit in the late 1800s before kit quilts became popular. It was designed by Jane Wurzburg, wife of the original owner. She was a prolific designer of art needlework and kit quilts who (was) also known for the beautiful flower gardens at her home. Formal Garden was their most popular kit quilt and the one I see most often.” Thank you, Gay!

I’m linking with Leah Day’s Free Motion Quilting Project Friday Link Up

10 thoughts on “Philanthropic Quilting

  1. I think you did an awesome job on the latest block. Also, I have been wanting my husband to cut into the front of my quilting foot, just like yours did (even under duress and doubt!). Was he using a hacksaw? Or? Thanks, Ilene

  2. What size are the print blocks and what is the density that your batting requires? If compatible, you could ditch around the print and do whatever design you wanted to do in the four-patch blocks. Otherwise, I think large spirals would work.If you have a thin thread that blends, I think the fabric pattern will still dominate.

    • The Blocks are 5″ square. The batting is rated for 9″ I believe. My backing is pale yellow and I have matching thread, so I think the top quilting will be subtle. Thanks for your comment.

  3. Thanks for the help with how to cut the quilting foot front. We’ll give it a try and let you know. I also wondered if I could do it with a jeweler’s saw. In regards to your Baby Quilt, I think circles or pebbles would look great. You could also look in Leah’s vast video library for other ideas. Doing a small quilt like that is good practice. Our local Quilt Guild donates small quilts to the hospitals. I’ve done several with just diagonals in each square, making an X. And i did Wiggly Pasta on a little one for my grandson. Since it has car fabric, I called the design Crazy Racetrack. You could also do different designs on each part. The sky is the limi. Have fun!

    • Perfect. I just designed duck feet in Adobe Illustrator. I’ll put them in the focus fabric square. The border will be water waves and the four squares will be just ditched. Now I have to decide whether to put one large foot print in the 5″ squares or to quilt three smaller ones in there. Decisions, decisions! This is so fun though. Thanks for your comments, ideas, and support. PS. Love your chicken tracks!!!

Leave a Reply

