Quilting a Rail Fence with Wiggles and Teeth

This week’s pattern for the Building Blocks Quilt Along offered us a challenge that is new to this quilt along. We were to free motion quilt most of the block, but there were two rows of quilting that Leah instructed us to do without the benefit of the lines.

I knew this was going to be interesting because it’s difficult for me to quilt consistent wiggly lines. With this in mind, I quilted the usual practice block that I do every week before I quilt the actual block. Since I used a frixion pen to mark my fabric, I was able to quilt the lines and leave those that were to be quilted freehand undone. I steamed them out and did the two rows without markings. I needed more practice. I could manage the “teeth” but the “wiggles” were another issue. I used some of my practice squares that I keep on hand and drew some one-inch grids and stitched several lines of “wiggles”. It was difficult to get consistency until I remembered that in Leah’s video she said to visualize your fingertip as you quilt wiggles. That really helped.

Practice WigglesWhen I was comfortable doing these lines, I turned to my “for keeps” block. I stitched everything except the two lines and deleted them with steam. Then came the free-hand lines. I had no guidance on the lighter fabric with the teeth, but unfortunately, on the darker fabric there were ghost lines to help me along with the wiggles.

Here is Block 3.2 of the Building Blocks Quilt Along3.2 front

3.2 back

…….

I have concluded that I am a Block of the Month person. It’s always fun to look forward to the beginning of each month to see what’s in store. I love the challenge of keeping current. (That didn’t happen last year.) Most rewarding is the end of the year when you have a pile of blocks that you can attach and quilt. (The quilting part is my favorite.)

For the past two years I have subscribed to Amy Gibson’s Sugar Block Club. Each month Amy posts a block pattern along with one of her delicious recipes. What could be better? Last year I just collected patterns and recipes. This year I’m catching up. I’m not sure why I did this, but… I also decided to do two blocks of each pattern. I’ll be making one GIANT quilt or more practically, two quilts next December.

I fell in love with Moda’s French General fabric line and purchased a layer cake of the Josephine collection. I had no idea what I was going to do with it. I just wanted those fabrics that were named after me. (My given name is Josephine.) How silly! I decided to start the year using those fabrics for the Sugar Block Club blocks. I’ve been filling in with fat quarters that were on sale at our local quilt shop. As of this week, I’m current. (Bravo!) Since I’ve had little experience cutting and piecing, this has been a real challenge with a couple of blocks. The block from February 2013 was the block from hell. It took me an entire day to piece it. My blocks aren’t perfect, and I’m way out of my comfort zone, but I’m learning. And it’s fun!

Amy gives each block a title and you have to read her blogs to understand the significance.

Here’s a gallery of my efforts.

I’m linking up with Leah Day’s Free Motion Quilting Friday Link Up.

Happy Quilting!

2 thoughts on “Quilting a Rail Fence with Wiggles and Teeth

  1. Those blocks are gorgeous and you will have an incredible finish to quilt!!!! Stitching consistent wavy lines is far more of a challenge than the straight ones (I have found!!!). You are accomplishing so much!!!!!! Hugs………………….

Leave a Reply

